Finding my way

Map1Each year for Christmas, I like to “surprise” myself with art books as gifts. I order the books way ahead of time, wrap them and put them under the tree. I then forget what I ordered and when I open the gift with my name on it on Christmas morning–surprise!

One of my “surprises” this year was Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking. I have always loved maps–the lines, the swirls, the shapes, the open invitation to imagine other places. So I love the idea of using the components of maps to make personal art.

The book has exercises in it to get you going on creating these maps. But when I sat down to work on this big piece of paper, using some squeeze bottle craft paints, I had no intention of making a map. However, the notion must have already seeped into my brain because this sure does look like a map.

I don’t think I’m finished with it, so it might not look anything like this when I’m done. I may even tear it up and use it in collages. I just find it fascinating what the brain takes in and what the Muse does with that information.

2 Comments

Filed under acrylic painting, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Work in progress

2 responses to “Finding my way

  1. I miss you and your colorful work! What have you been up to?

    • Hi, Maron! Thanks so much for saying that. I have not been blogging for SO long. I miss you all, too. Things just got busy–life, work, etc. But I’m trying to get back to blogging and sharing my work and finding out what everyone else is up to. I hope that you have been well. I’ll pop over and check out what you have been up to. 🙂

I love hearing from you. Tell me what you think.

