New year, new work

10487560_10152450805296650_2623399408784844612_nI’m looking forward to this new year. I’ve set my business and creative goals so I’ve got a clear vision of where I’m headed. I’m already off to a good start with some new paintings that I’ve been working on during my winter break.

One of my goals as an artist is to create work to enter into juried art exhibitions. This is not so much about getting into a lot of shows. It’s more about facing the possibility of rejection (which happens a lot as an artist) and not caring about that. I’m treating the themes of the shows as homework to guide my creative process.

An upcoming show has “heritage” as its theme, so I’ve enjoyed thinking about what that means to me and how to visually present the idea. Sometimes it helps to have a prompt when facing that blank canvas.

I’m taking my time, focusing on the process, and letting the work sit until it tells me where it wants to go. Hopefully, the process will take me in new directions this year, away from the safety of what I’m comfortable with as an artist.

What are your creative goals for the new year?

(The painting here is a detail of a mixed media work on a gallery-framed panel. It is just a start.)

2 Comments

Filed under Creative process, mixed media, Uncategorized, Work in progress

2 responses to “New year, new work

  1. Happy New Year! I am also focusing on the process and getting clear on the direction of where to take my creativity. I think exhibiting is being taken off my goals list for 2015 as I focus on my passion of pattern design. I wish you well this year and may the dreams of your heart be realized.

I love hearing from you. Tell me what you think.

